Lagos State House of Assembly Rejects 17 of 39 Commissioners-Nominees

In a significant development, the Lagos State House of Assembly has rejected 17 out of the 39 commissioners-nominees forwarded by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu.

The decision had a particular impact as many of the affected commissioners-nominees had served alongside the governor in his initial term.

Among those whose nominations were declined are Mrs. Folashade Adefisayo (Education); Prof. Akin Abayomi (Health); Gbenga Omotoso (Information and Strategy); Olalere Odusote (Energy); Sam Egube (Economic Budget and Planning); Mrs. Solape Hammod; Mrs. Cecilia Dada (Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation); and Mrs. Aramide Adeyoye (Works and Infrastructure).

Additionally, nominees including Yomi Oluyomi, Mrs. Folashade Ambrose, Ms. Barakat Bakare, Rotimi Fashola, Olalekan Fatodu, Mosopefolu George, Seun Osiyemi, Rotimi Ogunwuyi, and Olumide Oluyinka were also not confirmed.

Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa, the Speaker of the House, presided over the session and noted that the confirmation process had been rigorous and thorough. An ad-hoc committee, led by the Chief Whip of the House, Hon. Fatai Mojeed, had been responsible for screening the nominees.

The Speaker urged the confirmed commissioners-nominees to remain committed to serving the people of the State and stressed that their allegiance should be to the public rather than individuals.

Obasa assured the Assembly’s continued dedication to the best interests of the State.

The confirmation process was carried out through a voice vote, with each nominee’s name being mentioned.

On the other hand, the 22 commissioners-nominees who received approval from the House include:

  • Hon. Layode Ibrahim
  • Mr. Mobolaji Ogunlende
  • Dr. Dolapo Fasawe
  • Hon. Bola Olumegbon
  • Mr. Idris Aregbe
  • Ms. Abisola Ruth Olusanya
  • Mr. Moruf Akinderu Fatai
  • Mr. Kayode Bolaji-Roberts
  • Engr. Abiola Olowu
  • Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka
  • Dr. Oreoluwa Finnih-Awokoya
  • Mr. Yakub Adedayo Alebiosu
  • Mr. Lawal Pedro SAN
  • Mr. Tunbosun Alake
  • Mr. Gbenga Oyerinde
  • Dr. Adekunle Olayinka
  • Dr. Jide Babatunde
  • Mr. Afolabi Ayantayo
  • Mr. Tokunbo Wahab
  • Mr. Olakunle Rotimi-Akodu
  • Mr. Jamiu Alli-Balogun
  • Mr. Abdulkabir Ogungbo

The House decision follows a briefing by Hon. Mojeed Fatai regarding the screening exercise outcomes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *