Lagos State House of Assembly Speaker Pleads for Understanding on Commissioner-Nominees List

The Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa, appealed to his colleagues who expressed dissatisfaction with the list of commissioner-nominees sent recently by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu for screening and confirmation.

Some lawmakers raised concerns about the exclusion of certain parts of the state in the nomination. Some suggested that the House should reevaluate the list, while others urged that the nominees’ local government areas be attached to the list.

To address the matter, the House established a 12-member committee chaired by Hon. Fatai Mojeed, the Chief Whip. The committee, comprising other lawmakers, including Hon. Adedamola Kasunmu, Hon. Lukmon Olumoh, Hon. Owolabi Ajani, Hon. Femi Saheed, Hon. Temitope Adewale, Hon. Nureni Akinsanya, Hon. Jubril Abdulkareem, Hon. Ladi Ajomale, Hon. Abiodun Orekoya, Hon. Ganiyu Okanlawon, and Hon. Oladele Ajayi, will be responsible for screening the nominees and reporting back to the house.

During plenary, Speaker Obasa asked his colleagues to understand that it is not possible for all local government areas in the state to produce commissioners. He reminded them that Governor Sanwo-Olu has the prerogative to nominate those to work with him, while the lawmakers’ duty is to screen and confirm the nominees if they meet the necessary requirements.

In a ‘Matter of Urgent Public Importance,’ Hon. Aro Moshood Abiodun (Ikorodu 2) raised concerns that despite contributing to the success of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the last election, Ikorodu was given only one slot in the list. Other lawmakers also expressed dissatisfaction with the representation of their respective constituencies and raised issues about the absence of nominees’ local government areas and the lack of consideration for APC technocrats.

The House is currently in the process of reviewing the list and seeking additional information from the Governor regarding the nominees’ local government areas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *